Vinyl Handbook Book Launch Event Friday 25th September 8.30pm: You’re Invited!

On the back of all the wonderful, kind comments on social media, and the Word In Your Ear podcast with David Hepworth and Mark Ellen, my publisher, i40, thought it would be a splendid idea to organise a launch event for Every Record Tells A Story: A Vinyl Handbook. Which was nice of them.

What with this being 2020 and the authorities taking a dim view of large gatherings that don’t endanger the lives of wildfowl, sadly the vol-au-vents will have to remain unfilled and champagne will have to go back into the cellar.

Until the technology for video conference calls advances sufficiently to include catering, such basic essentials will have to be self-provided, which does, for most people of course, reduce by perhaps a factor of more than fifty per cent, the attraction of attending a book launch party.

Hosting a book launch event without a free bar is rather testing the patience of your readership, although at least there isn’t the threat of missing the last train home hanging over those present like the sword of Damocles.

However, we are nothing if not resilient, or perhaps pig-headed is the right phrase I am looking for, and we would therefore cordially invite you to join us at a friendly and hopefully entertaining launch event that will feature the following attractions:

CONVENIENCE! You can join us from the comfort of your own home.

BOOZE!* * NB Must be provided by the attendee. Please drink responsibly.

LIVE Q&A!: Your chance to ask questions about the book, about records or even about my cats if the mood takes you.

READINGS!: A chance to hear me stumble over my words as I read a couple of passages from the book.

The fun will begin at 8.30pm UK time, which equates to 3.30pm in New York, 12.30pm in Los Angeles, an appallingly inconvenient 3.30am in Singapore and Hong Kong and 9.30pm in Berlin, just in case you happen to be from those places.

To join us, just email i40publishing@gmail.com for the Zoom log in details.

Hope to see you there!



Categories: Music

Tags: , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Yes please! Wouldn’t miss this. Can I heckle?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Steve,

    Would love to have watched but I will be returning to the UK at that time. Funny enough I tried to purchase the book on Kindle earlier today but does not seem available.

    What is best way to buy, direct from you?

    I know I make more money selling myself.

    Good luck,hope it goes well

    Look forward to reading

    Graham

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sadly, it will be an appallingly inconvenient 2.00 am in South Australia. I hope to sleep right through it. Very best wishes anyway Steve.
    Cheers, Dave

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: